Single Review: Haley Johnsen - Feel The Water

Back from her early January tour dates, Haley Johnsen returns to Portland to release her captivating new single “Feel The Water”. Last summer, Haley released her EP Through the Blue where she demonstrated her powerful vocals and sincere songwriting abilities. In her latest release she continues to provide fans with music that leaves you inspired and wanting to sing along.

“This song emerged for me while I was receiving a guitar lesson from my bandmate, Tim Karplus”, Haley explains. “The guitar melody line became the starting point to where the song would eventually write itself. The vocal melody came very naturally, almost as if it was certain it could be no other way.”

The first time I heard the chorus it felt like a gentle question for a friend and then evolved into a triumphant declaration by the end of the song. Speaking of evolution, Haley is emerging as a songwriter who can effortlessly express her message to the listener. Haley and her band have created an environment in this song that is inviting and draws you in.

Haley goes on to explain, “As I was writing it, I couldn’t help but keep hearing the word “water”. I wasn’t sure why it kept insisting on itself, but the water came to represent something much greater than I’d imagined. The water represents all of our potential. Our depth. Our wildest dreams. This song became a reminder to myself and others to not be afraid to live a life of excellence. To make no excuse to settle for mediocrity or wade in shallowness, and to believe in oneself despite the ever looming shadow of complacency. This is the first song that my band and I collaborated on both outside and inside of the studio, and I feel so grateful to have found the right group of musicians to create with.”

With this single, Haley Johnsen has given us some of her best work yet. If “Feel The Water” is any indication, we have plenty to look forward to in her future releases!

Feel The Water: Available January 22nd!

Catch Haley on Local Roots Live, March 9th at Alberta St Pub.


  • Haley Johnsen- vocal, acoustic guitar
  • Barrett Johnson- acoustic guitar
  • Tom Dawson- electric guitar
  • Tim Karplus- bass
  • Mark Powers- drums
  • Skyler Norwood (Miracle Lake Studios)- production/engineering
  • Jason Carter (Atomic Disc)- mixing
  • Ed Brooks (RFI Mastering)- mastering
Music ReviewsLuke Neill